A Horse is A Horse, Of course,….

Posted: October 9, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Of course a horse is a horse, unless it’s a horse named “Ed”, the talking horse.  I remember that show in re-runs.  I’m old, but not THAT old.  The show was about a talking horse who helped is buddy and various and sundry others.  That’s not really why I picked today’s post.  But then, you know me, I’m thinking one thing and typing another.  If you don’t know that, well, you will soon.  My fingers have a tendency to type what they want, not what my mind tells them.  Thank goodness for backspace buttons.

Back to a horse.  More specifically, writing about a horse.  In my story, the main character comes across a horse in a field.  She’s very tame, yet, not.  She has a mind of her own.  Now as a writer, you are told, “Write what you know.”  If you don’t know about horses, then, how do you write about them?  I’m lucky, I grew up on a ranch.  There were lots of horses, cows, dogs, pigs, chickens, and some things I’m afraid to name.  My uncle thought of himself as a sort of animal husbandry expert, even though he had never passed the eighth grade.  He was a very smart man, don’t get me wrong.  He just wasn’t very intelligent by today’s standards or yesterday’s standards.  He never let that get him down or keep him from trying.

Image

But I digress.  I have experience in horses. Even though I have experience, there is a niggling idea in my head regarding this special pony.  She is probably not very beautiful in a sense that she doesn’t really look sleek and healthy.  She is very healthy, yet she might not necessarily look like it.  She’s a diamond in the rough, just like our main character.  She has a strength, intelligence and tenacity that isn’t necessarily seen at first glance.

So how does one write to describe this type of horse?  Well, my first thought was to look on the internet (isn’t that everyone’s first thought?).  I could find pictures of horses and describe something from there.  That’s how I came upon the above picture.  Nah, my special horse isn’t like that.  That’s too flashy.

Then there was another one…..

Image

Well, number one, it’s a male.  That’s okay, I can describe this photo and change the gender.  But it’s a little too cocky for our special horse.  She needs to be confident, but in an understated way.  And number too, again, too flashy.  She needs to be a diamond in the rough sort of horse.

Then I found these…

116916977_e65ac6e5a6

big_draft_horses_stock_by_horse_power-d5jajp9

Now we are getting somewhere.  I  think we can make this work, don’t you? My uncle would be proud.  I have effectively “blended” breeds and created a horse of my own.  What shall we call it?  Breed Marlie?

“Hi, yes, that’s my horse.  The breed?  why it’s a Marlie, of course.  Very rare.  Only one in existence that I know of,” I smile demurely, “Thank you, yes, she is beautiful, isn’t she?  In an understated, intelligent, diamond in the rough sort of way.”

That’s what I love about writing.  I can create whatever I want and no one can tell me it’s wrong.  This is my world, if you don’t like it, go build your own.  But I would never turn you away, my friend.  You are special, in an intelligent, understated, diamond in the rough sort of way.  Come on in, I’ve got a place for you right here.

M.

P.S.  If you liked this post, use the buttons below to say so. I encourage you to follow me on this blog, Facebook, and Google+.  I always enjoy making new friends.  Take care, M.

P.P.S. All images are the property of their respective owners, I do not lay any claim of ownership to them.

Leave a Reply

