Who’s Counting now?

Posted: October 26, 2013 in NaNoWriMo
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I realized, after reading my last post, that I am nervous. When I get nervous, I tend to fall back on old behaviors, like shutting down my creative side and writing as a robot.  I don’t know if you’ve ever experienced this.  Perhaps it’s writers block to some.  I don’t know.  But, the creative juices are blocked, like a hardened artery full of plaque just a few days away from a myocardial infarction.  I will call it “writer’s coronary artery disease” or wCAD for short.

Writer’s CAD is brought on by three factors.  These factors are writer’s angina, emotional stress, and cold weather.

  1. Writer’s angina – intermittent chest pain that often has squeezing or pressure-like quality.  Yes, I have that.  I’ve got to write 50,000 words in 30 days with no experience or idea of what I am doing or how I’m going to do it.  Let the squeezing begin!
  2. Emotional stress – We all know what that means.  But just in case you don’t, that’s the emotion that comes when you are looking at a blank page and your stomach tightens up, the bile lodges in the back of your throat, and your eyes dry up like the Nevada Alkali Flats. Check.
  3. Cold Weather –  It’s November.  For me, that means cold weather.  If I were in Australia, it would be a different case, but I’m not.  I am in Idaho, USA.  That makes a difference.  The cold is leaching into my bones as I type.  Its brittle freeze beginning an ache in my arthritic knees.  My finger joints feel like knots in tree limbs, immovable and creaking.

Yup, I surely have writers CAD.

Because it’s not an actual diagnosis from a real doctor, I can self medicate.  I have a couple of ideas, but I am really looking for more.

What are your ideas to help with writers CAD?   Copious amounts of alcohol don’t work for me, so that one is out.   Do you have any other creative releases or idea?

Let me know in the comments below.

Shall we journey down the dark road of NaNoWriMo together?  Why yes, yes, I think we shall.  Take my hand, little one.  There is nothing to be afraid of …

I’ll.  Be.  Right. Here.

M.
Scared Dog

Click Here For Images &
Scared Dog Pictures

Leave a Reply

