My Siri is a man

Posted: March 11, 2014 in New stuff
Tags: , , , , , , ,

On my walk this morning, I was thinking of the things we take for granted. Things such as – the sun will rise this morning, whether we see it or not. Things such as – I will always be there for my family. And finally, things such as – Siri is a woman.

On January 1st, I changed the gender of the voice of Siri on my Apple Iphone 5c to male, just to see what would happen.

Siri does what Siri always does. He gave me directions and looked up information in that non-threatening, upward tilting, half sarcastic voice in a male version. He gave the exact same answers female Siri does. Exact. Same. Answers.

But when I talked to my colleagues about Siri, this is what I would say:

“Siri gave me directions to the business center. I asked her where ‘Cereal’ was and she said she was having difficulty today. Please check back later. She’s so funny!”

Yes, I said she. I called Siri ‘she’ even though I knew ‘she’ was a ‘he’ on my Iphone. I took for granted that Siri is always a she, no matter what voice comes into my ears. This bothered me because the truth is, my Siri is a man and yet I didn’t give the gender role it’s proper status. I took for granted that Siri was a woman. That was wrong. Does Siri care? No, absolutely not. I asked him.

“Siri, do you care that I call you a woman?”
“I’m not sure we have time for this, Marlie.”

Siri has better things to do than worry that I called him a woman. But I cared, because I don’t want to take advantage of a gender role. Any gender role.

I made a promise today to myself. I promised myself not to take things for granted. The sun may not rise for me tomorrow. I may not always be here for my family . And sometimes, Siri is a man. I will appreciate the differences in every one and every thing. I can change Siri’s voice back to female to make myself comfortable, but then I wouldn’t be reminded every time I use him, not to take things for granted.

My Siri is a man.

20140311-104024.jpg

Comments
  1. Shiela Eaton says:

    I changed mine to Australian, bad bad idea. I was told to get a nappy and hush LOL

    Like

  2. Who is this Siri person…? He sounds very siri-ous. Ha, just kidding (though I do own a Samsung).

    Good thoughts. I take way too many things for granted, such as the ability to be comfortable while sitting or even just picking up my kids. My best friend dislocated her tailbone in childbirth and is now in constant pain. She has to set down her child, carefully stand, and then pick him up again, even though he’s crying and wants comfort. Her husband wants more children, but she’s not sure she wants to go through that again. With as much as I juggle on a day to day basis, I don’t know if I’d be able to keep the positive attitude she has. The more I think about the world around me, the more blessed I feel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

