A

A to Z Challenge

There is a myth about Icarus and flying too close to the sun. This story is about hubris. But I look at this story from an introvert’s point of view and I see something else there, too. I see Daedalus, the father, worked hard to fashion the wings and actually tested them himself. Then as he was flying off to freedom, he told his son, don’t do these things because I know they will be disastrous. Daedalus was an introvert. A person who wasn’t looking for glory, he just wanted success.  He wanted to be free.daedalus 2

I, personally, am getting pretty tired of being told I can make a million dollars in two days without any work. I am getting tired of someone telling me if I work twenty hours out of twenty-four each day, I will succeed and be free. If I push myself beyond my limits I will grow and learn freedom.

For awhile, I actually believed in what people were telling me. I worked long hours, consistently, and fervently. I was driven to succeed. Did the business I worked for succeed? Yes. Did I succeed? No. I made myself sick. I lost everything and I had to start over again and again and again. Every time I pushed beyond my limits, I fell.  That’s when I realized I was attempting to be Icarus, when in fact, I was actually more like Daedalus.

How many times does a person have to ram their head against a wall before they realize than can turn? Well, the answer for me was over twenty.Hit your head here awhile Over twenty times I rammed my head against the ceiling of extroversion. Over twenty times, I fell flat.

Why am I starting this series off by telling you about my failures? Because each of those failures brought me closer to accepting who I am. I am an introvert and it took me too long to realize it and use it. I don’t want you to be like that. Ramming your head against the wall of sales pitches that tell you if you don’t do it their way, you will fail. Tell you, if you don’t push yourself beyond your limits you won’t succeed. Don’t make yourself sick like I did.

We are exploring introversion in small business. We will start to understand that nothing is perfect. No extrovert method is exactly right for you. We will begin to understand as an introvert, you have the freedom and confidence to take time to be alone, recharge yourself, and still make a successful business.

For me, writing is turning into the lifetime dream I’ve always yearned for. For you, it might be crafting widgets for woogles. Whatever it is, the skills to make it happen lie inside you. In all your wonderful, amazing, thoughtful, alone but not lonely, introverted self. Tomorrow, we explore B – Business Plan for introverts. I hope you join me.

M.

Comments
  1. Mark C says:

    An interesting point of view. Perhaps we all need to learn that more more more is not always better. I look forward to more. Hope you’ll visit my blog at http://olivegroveview.blogspot.gr/2014/04/a-is-for-abba.html

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ava Quinn says:

    I’m glad you found your introverted writing niche! I’ve found a majority of writers are introverts, myself included. Though in the facelessness of blogging, I get to come out of my shell and show strangers what mainly only my family and close friends see.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The long hours and success strike a cord with me. I feel like I’m bordering on my breaking point, just struggling to stay afloat with all the different tasks pulling me in all directions. I suppose it’s a bit like trying to play an extrovert when I’m not really one.

    Like

  4. Elin Gregory says:

    Excellent post. Introversion ftw.

    Like

  5. Phoenix says:

    It seems introverts have to live in the extroverted world when, in fact, we make up quite a bit of that world. Enjoyed this post and will be back! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

