Business Plan – Introvert’s Style

Posted: April 3, 2014 in A to Z Challenge
Tags: , , , ,

BHow many of you actually know what a business plan does? Show of hands. Yeah, I didn’t know much about them either. I’ve heard from other coaches that the business plan is the “Plan for your business.” Well, that’s a big “Duh!”

But what does it really mean? What’s a vision? What’s a mission? and those three acronyms… S. W. O. T. that stand for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats. SWOT. To me I could go down to the dollar store and buy one to kill my flies.

After a lot of researching, sweating blood onto the page, and then ripping it up to start again, this is what I have learned about the business plan.

 

  1. You need a working business plan to move forward and grow.
  2. Your business plan needs to be a living document.  It is looked at as often as you need to be reminded of why you’re doing this, what you plan to do, and the list of steps to get you there.
  3. It will change.  I guarantee, the business plan will change.  No one likes change.  Especially when you think you are building momentum, but trust me.  Change is good, even when it looks like the worst thing that could ever happen.
  4. It.  Is.  Not. A. Monster.   I know some of you are looking at blank business plans imagining it to be this huge purple and green hairy monstrosity ready to consume your soul.  (Okay, maybe that’s just me talking.)  But it’s really not.  Especially when you break it down into its parts.

    Parts is Parts!

    Parts is Parts!

  5. Once you understand what each section means, it will actually be fun and energizing to complete and play with.  It’s sort of like building your own map.  No one tells you what you have to put on your map.  Only you.
    Cowbell The Dog

    Cowbell The Dog

    Do you remember in kindergarten when you could draw whatever you wanted on a piece of paper and your mom would look at it and say, “Wow, honey, that’s the most beautiful horse I’ve ever seen!”  and you reply, “No, Mom, that’s Cowbell, our dog!”  That’s what you get to do with a business plan.  Draw Cowbell the dog.

So today’s post is a day late.  I’m using up my Sunday because of circumstances that happen in life.  Don’t be afraid, I’m still going to write these.  Tomorrow is C.

Tell me below what you think C would represent in a business plan.  I would love to hear from you!

Have a great day!

M.

 

Comments
  1. Cash! Capital Investment! Cookie! Oh, wait, that was my inner-mom coming out. I’m not sure what other C’s would be included in a business plan.

    Like

    • HAHA! Cash is definitely an issue. It’s part of your SWOT. You can use it in multiple areas. The whole idea of the business plan is to get those things down on paper so you can begin to figure out ways to fix them, if they are Weaknesses or Threats. If they are Strengths or Opportunities, then you can look at them when you are strapped for Cash and say, “Yeah, but, my plan is strong in these areas, so I must not being doing too bad!” AND I love Cookies!! Let that Inner Mom come out!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

