Creating a Business Plan – Introvert’s style

Posted: April 4, 2014 in A to Z Challenge
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Create

Create

So we’ve talked about the fears of a business plan.  Today’s post is about starting to create one.  If you go on the World Wide Web, you can search for “Business Plan Template” and come up with a nice long list of helpful templates.  Next Post will include the links to those templates I’ve found helpful.  But first, take some time and search for them.  Use your favorite search engine.

As an introvert, I want to be able to cut through the hype and understand what each sections mean to me.  So I’ve come up with a list of key ingredients for a workable Business Plan for a small business.  I will focus on a writing career, but I will also throw in a few suggestions from other small businesses I’ve encountered. Here it is:

  • It must have the following sections – Vision, Mission, Objectives, and Goals.  If it has more than that, well, you decide if you want to spend the time understanding them.  If you get lost, feel free to contact me, I will try to help.
  • You must have a SWOT template.  Remember yesterday?  Strength’s, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats?  I have to tell you that I have a hard time remembering that last “T”.  Because, when you start to understand the SWOT, you realize that the “T”, Threat, is actually an “R”, Risk.  Because, threat’s are outside risks to your business and risks can be managed.  Threats make it sound as if you are in a castle besieged by bandits.  You’re not.  Those bandits outside your business are risks that can actually help you and you can help them.  I’ll talk about that a little later.  As an author, other authors are not a threat to me, they are an asset and aligning myself with them makes us both better!  Trust me on this one.
  • Finally, you need a good friend or business partner to help you get through the tough parts.   This last one is important.  None of us live in a vaccum, although, I’m sure there are times when I’ve wished with all my heart this were so.  Everything and everyone around us can help us.  We don’t have to find more than one person to bounce our ideas off of, but you need at least one.

As an introvert, that last bullet is really difficult.  Because it is easy to look up an extroverted business partner who doesn’t understand your way of thinking and you will be discouraged before you’re five minutes into the conversation. Not that anything like that has ever happened to me… Okay, maybe once or thrice. Take your time finding the right person/people to help you..  This isn’t a 2K sprint, this

Marlie Sprinting.

Marlie Sprinting.

is a 1,000,000 mile marathon.  Your business will be with you for the rest of your life, hopefully.  You don’t want to burn yourself out before you’ve even caught your second wind. Please understand, I am NOT saying you can take a very long time.  Services and products need to be offered in a timely manner.  What I AM saying is take the time YOU need to do it right.  Trust yourself to know and trust those you surround yourself with to know. Later I am going to post D.  I want to catch up to the monthly challenge.  I don’t think I can safely say that I’ve succeeded at this, however, I’m not giving up just because there was a minor setback.  This isn’t do or die, this is helping you.  At least I hope to help you. Let me know in the comments.  They are in the upper right hand corner of this blog.  The speech bubble.  Click on the red number. M.

Leave a Reply

