10,000 words in…

Posted: November 6, 2015 in NaNoWriMo, New stuff
Tags: , , , ,

For those of you following NaNoWriMo, according to the calendar, today marked 10,000 words, if you have written every day at 1,667 words.  I’m happy to report that I’m actually at 10,171 words this evening.  I’m still trying to decide if I want to continue or not, because the story, at least as far as I can see at this point, is unfolding quite nicely.  Stevie and Lee have had their first kiss and people seem to be vanishing without a trace and leaving their belongings behind at the camp.  Two characters I never thought would play a vital role have come to the forefront. They have this chemistry with each other  that makes me laugh and endears me to them.  I hope you’ll like them, too.

I had a very interesting question today.  A close friend of mine said, “Lee is going to die, isn’t she?”

I replied, “I don’t know.”

She huffed and exclaimed, “I need to know!”
I exclaimed right back, wide eyed, “Me, too!”

It’s true, I don’t always know what happens next.  Ultimately, I have control where the story goes, but in the end, the characters control the outcome just as much as I do.  Do I control the characters?

Maybe.  Maybe not.

I don’t really think I do.  I just picture them in my head, they take on a life of their own and tell me what they will do.  Based on that, the story unfolds.

So what happens in the next 10,000 words?

I don’t know.

But I can’t wait to find out! How about you?

Stevie Excerpt 3

Comments
  1. jeicjackson says:

    Yay! Go! Go! Go!

    I wrote 11K words before I found the beginning of my novel. x.x

    If you’re looking for another NaNoWriMo buddy, my name is JeiC: http://nanowrimo.org/participants/jeic

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

